Car Accident Laws and the Statute of Limitations in Wyoming
Several state laws could significantly impact state regulations that may severely influence any auto accident claim you choose to pursue if you have been hurt or had your car wrecked in a traffic collision in Wyoming. You should contact a qualified Cheyenne, WY car accident lawyer to get the most compensation out of your settlement.
These laws include the following:
- Four-year deadline for submitting most car wreck court cases in Wyoming’s civil court system
- Wyoming’s “modified comparative fault” stipulation only permits financial restoration when the plaintiff was 50% or less liable for the accident.
The outline of Wyoming law is provided there. Let us now examine some details.
What is the statute of limitations?
- State law, known as a “statute of limitations,” imposes a strict deadline on your ability to file a case.
- It is crucial to understand that a complaint for auto insurance is not subject to the statute of limitations.
- Every insurance provider, whether yours or another driver’s, is likely to require that you submit a claim “timely” or “inside the specific timeframe” following the collision, or at the very least notify the insurer of an occurrence that may result in a claim. That typically means a few days, or at best, a few weeks.
- According to Wyoming Statutes segment 1-3-105, cases in Wyoming involving injuries from auto accidents or property damage are entitled to a 4-year deadline. This implies that anyone injured in the collision—whether a person driving, pillion, motorcycle rider, bike rider, or e-scooter rider had their car or other private possessions compromised. They have four years from the collision to sue against any prospective accused.
- If a person was killed in an auto accident and somebody’s estate wishes to file a wrongful death case, there is a 2-year limit for doing so. Section 1-38-102 of the Wyoming Statutes Reference establishes that timeframe. And in these situations, the 2-year “clock” begins to run on the day the injured person passes away, which may be after the actual incident date.
- The statute of limitations that apply to your circumstance must be understood and followed.
- This is because the plaintiff would undoubtedly urge the court to dismiss the matter if you attempt to bring your complaint later than the statute of limitations period, and the court is highly inclined to agree.
Suppose there is no other purpose than that you will have much more negotiating power during settlement negotiations. In that case, you should give yourself sufficient time to initiate a lawsuit, if necessary, even if you are convinced that your claim will be settled through the vehicle insurance procedure.